The Six layers of an IOT solution


The Six Layers of an IoT Solution

When people think of the internet of things (IoT), they think of a smart device or sensor, but if you want to build an IoT solution, there are six layers that must be considered. Each layer has its own requirements and considerations as well as security ramifications to achieve successful business outcomes and ensure data privacy and compliance. The six layers include:

  • Layer 1: IoT Devices
  • Layer 2: Edge Computing
  • Layer 3: Connectivity & Data Transport
  • Layer 4: IoT Platforms
  • Layer 5: Data Management
  • Layer 6: IoT Applications


In The Six Layers of an IoT Solution guide, the CompTIA IoT Advisory Council has broken these layers down and provided overarching guidance on IoT security to help enterprise CIOs, IT solution providers, and aspiring IT practitioners understand IoT solutions holistically.

CompTIA IT Council

 Download the full guide»